Northwest Fly Tyer

The fly tying pages of Monte Smith

Special Flies, part II

Posted by nwflytyer on April 26, 2009

Unknown Flies c. early 1970's

Unknown Flies c. early 1970's

Unknown fly #1 is on the left in the picture.  It is fairly lightweight with only the bead chain eyes for weight.  Appears to be a size 6 wet fly hook.  Here’s what I see:

Tail:  Red hackle fibers

Body:  Small, light gray chenille

Underwing:  Dark green bucktail extending a bit beyond the tail

Overwing:  Dark deer hair, to the length of the hook shank or so

Eyes:  Small silver bead chain

My initial attempt:

Unknown Fly #1

Unknown Fly #1

Unknown Fly #2 looks to be a Comet or Boss variation.  The fly is lightweight, with only the beadchain for weight.  The hook is a straight eye, and about a size #8.   It’s a very simple pattern:

Tail:  Red hackle fibers

Body:  Orange yarn

Collar: Ginger hackle

Eyes:  Small silver bead chain

My effort:

Unknown Fly #2

Unknown Fly #2

My grandfather – Omar Falk – passed away in 1989.  These flies are from his personal fishing collection.  I have them framed on the wall of my den.  Together with a Fenwick fiberglass fly rod of his, I have some special items that mean very much to me.  My fly fishing journey began way back in the summer of 1977, and I’m glad to have some mementos from the man who introduced me to it.

Omar Falk Flies - Originals

Omar Falk Flies - Originals

Leave a Reply

 
