Northwest Fly Tyer

The fly tying pages of Monte Smith

The Boat Box

Posted by nwflytyer on February 10, 2010

I have always thought it would be great to have a large fly box to carry a huge selection of flies when fishing stillwaters.  Instead of multiple boxes, it might be nice to work out of one big box.  I’ve seen the nice wooden boat boxes that are popular in the UK  and in British Columbia.  Lined with foam, metal hinges and clasps, they’re sturdy and built to last.  They’re also heavy.

I picked up some cheap plastic cases designed for scrapbooking, crafts, or similar.  I trimmed sheets of craft foam to fit and used a spray adhesive to glue the foam in place.

I took five of my 4 1/2″ x 6″ boxes full of lake flies – chironomids, leeches, damsels flies, dragonfly nymphs, scuds, caddis pupae, attractors, etc., etc.  The boat box absorbed them all.  Here is the resulting collection:

One good thing is it floats.  So if I drop it in the water, all is not lost.  I’m not so sure I want to drag this thing along all the time, but it doesn’t weigh all that much.  And while it’s not as elegant as a UK Boat Box, perhaps it will serve as an inexpensive trial for me to see if I want to invest the time in making a wooden version.  If nothing else, it is a pretty good storage box for my den.  I can pull from these boxes easily and it’s easier to see what I might need to tie to fill in any gaps.

Now, what am I going to do for all my stillwater dry flies?  Alas,  I’m still looking at carrying at least two fly boxes!

Leave a Reply

 
